Sonny Throckmorton

Sonny Throckmorton’s legendary songwriting career began in the late 1970s when he had 150 songs cut within a nine-month span. Between 1976 and 1980, a Throckmorton-penned song appeared on the charts almost every single week. Throughout his storied career, Throckmorton had more than 1,000 songs recorded by an astounding list of artists, including Ray Charles, Merle Haggard, Alan Jackson, The Judds, George Strait, Tanya Tucker, and more. Among his cuts, Throckmorton notched No. 1 singles with Johnny Duncan, The Oak Ridge Boys, and T.G. Sheppard. He also co-wrote classics such as Merle Haggard's "The Way I Am," Jerry Lee Lewis' "Middle Age Crazy," George Strait's "The Cowboy Rides Away," and The Judds’ 1984 ACM Song of the Year, "Why Not Me." Throckmorton has received countless accolades for his contributions to the Country Music genre, including Songwriter of the Year recognition from organizations such as Cashbox Magazine (1978), Nashville Songwriters Association International (1978-1979), Broadcast Music, Inc (1980), and the DJs of America (1980). In 1985, Throckmorton was inducted into the Nashville Songwriter’s Hall of Fame.