Ahead of the 55th Academy of Country Music Awards™ Green and Townes Receive Surprise ACM Awards


Mark Wills, Ashley McBryde, Riley Green and Tenille Townes Perform for
Grand Ole Opry’s 4,941st Saturday Night Broadcast


Ahead of the 55th Academy of Country Music Awards™

 Green and Townes Receive Surprise ACM Awards





NASHVILLE, Tenn. – (September 12, 2020) - The Grand Ole Opry celebrated the 55th Academy of Country Music Awards™ tonight with the 4941st consecutive Saturday night broadcast featuring Opry member Mark Wills along with Ashley McBryde, Riley Green and Tenille Townes. The Opry aired on Circle TV and SiriusXM as well as the Opry’s flagship home 650 WSM AM and wsmonline.com. 


During the show Green and Townes were surprised with their 55th ACM Awards trophies as New Male Artist of the Year and ACM New Female Artist of the Year, respectively.


After Wills presented the award to Green he shared, “It’s such an honor. I really never even dreamed of something like this happening. A lot of people helped to get me where I am today. My entire team in Nashville, all my family and friends back home for all their support, the fans, country radio, and most importantly the two men that inspired this last song I’m going to play, Buford Green and Lendon Bonds, ‘I Wish Grandpas Never Died’.”


“Such an honor to follow in your footsteps and call you a friend, Ashley,” said Townes accepting the ACM honor from McBryde. “It really is just a great joy to get to do this thing I love to do. It’s a dream to get to remember this moment here on the Grand Ole Opry stage and it is an honor to be a part of this country music community.”


“Huge congratulations to both Tenille and Riley on their New Artist wins and a special thank you to all involved in making this surprise moment unforgettable from the Grand Ole Opry stage,” said Damon Whiteside, CEO of the Academy of Country Music. “We are proud of all these two artists have accomplished and can’t wait to see them perform from the Ryman on Wednesday night!” 


Additionally, Green and Townes are featured on the newly released “On The Road Again (ACM Lifting Lives® Edition)” single, Willie Nelson’s timeless hit, featuring the 55th ACM Awards® New Female and New Male Artist winners and nominees including, Ingrid Andress, Gabby Barrett, Jordan Davis, Russell Dickerson, Lindsay Ell, Caylee Hammack, Cody Johnson, and Morgan Wallen, joined by Nelson. Produced by Ross Copperman and Jimmy Robbins, the single is available via Warner Music Nashville across all digital platforms and can be heard on Country radio now (LISTEN HERE).


The 55TH ACADEMY OF COUNTRY MUSIC AWARDS™ will be broadcast on Wednesday, September 16 (live 8:00-11:00 PM ET/delayed PT) from the Grand Ole Opry House, Ryman Auditorium and The Bluebird Cafe on the CBS Television Network, and will be available to stream live and on demand on CBS All Access. Both Green and Townes will perform on the telecast.


Opry shows are broadcast live on Circle and Gray TV stations, DISH Studio Channel 102, Sling TV, and other TV affiliates in addition to a companion live stream on Circle All Access Facebook, YouTube and Twitter. The Opry can also be heard on 650 WSM-AM, wsmonline.com, and SiriusXM. Those tuning into the Livestream on Circle All Access YouTube, Twitter and Facebook channels each Saturday can watch a Circle Sessions at 7:30 PM ET/ 6:30 PM CT immediately prior to the Opry.



About the Grand Ole Opry

To plan an Opry visit, call (800) SEE-OPRY or visit opry.com. The Opry presents the best in country music live every week from Nashville, Tenn.  The Opry can be heard at opry.com and wsmonline.com, Opry and WSM mobile apps, SiriusXM, and its flagship home, 650 AM-WSM. The Grand Ole Opry is owned by Ryman Hospitality Properties (NYSE: RHP).  For more information, visit opry.com.


About the Academy of Country Music Awards

The 55th Academy of Country Music Awards™ is dedicated to honoring and showcasing the biggest names and emerging talent in the Country Music industry. The show is produced for television by dick clark productions and will broadcast LIVE on Wednesday, September 16, 2020 on the CBS Television Network, and will be available to stream live and on-demand on CBS All Access. R.A. Clark, Amy Thurlow, Barry Adelman, Mark Bracco and Linda Gierahn are executive producers. Damon Whiteside is executive producer for the Academy of Country Music.


PHOTO (L-R): Dan Rogers, Vice President and Executive Producer, Grand Ole Opry, Ashley McBryde, Tenille Townes, Riley Green, Mark Wills, Damon Whiteside, CEO Academy of Country Music


PHOTO CREDIT: Photos courtesy Grand Ole Opry LLC. Chris Hollo, photographer

Images are provided gratis for journalistic use for one year from date of release in conjunction with coverage pertaining to the event of the photo.  All other uses require express written permission from Grand Ole Opry, LLC.   


# # #