ACM No. 1 Songwriters Honored

The Academy of Country Music hosted its quarterly "ACM No. 1 Honors" show at the Bluebird Café in Nashville on Tuesday, August 11, 2009. The event, which benefited ACM Lifting Lives, showcased the scribes of 13 of the 35 No.1 hits from the third quarter of 2008 through the second quarter of 2009. Jennifer Adan, Cory Batten, Brett Beavers, Jim Beavers, Jim Collins, Clint Daniels, Marty Dodson, Ashley Gorley, Clint Lagerberg, Clay Mills, Danny Myrick, Mark Nesler, Chris Sligh, Wynn Varble, Brad Warren, Brett Warren and Joe West were the night's featured writers. The songwriter's round was co-hosted by ACM Board members Chris Farren, Pat Higdon and ACM Director, Membership & Events Michelle Goble.

Number one hits celebrated included "It Won't Be Like This For Long," "Then," "Feel That Fire," "Don't Think I Don't Think About It," "Roll With Me," "Here Comes Goodbye," "She Wouldn't Be Gone," "She's Country," "Waitin' On A Woman," "Don't," "Everybody Wants To Go To Heaven," "Do You Believe Me Now," "You Look Good In My Shirt," and more.

The list of honorees comprised 59 songwriters in total, 16 of which are also recording artists. Dierks Bentley, Zac Brown, Michael Bublé, Kristian Bush, Kenny Chesney, Alan Jackson, Toby Keith, Mac McAnally, Jennifer Nettles, Brad Paisley, Darius Rucker, Taylor Swift, Randy Travis and, Keith Urban were included as well as Brad and Brett Warren.

This was the fifth event hosted by the ACADEMY OF COUNTRY MUSIC at the historical Bluebird Café. The Bluebird Café is internationally renowned for exhibiting the best original country and acoustic music seven nights a week.