08/29/2016

MIRANDA LAMBERT TO RECEIVE ACM MERLE HAGGARD SPIRIT AWARD

MIRANDA LAMBERT TO RECEIVE
ACM MERLE HAGGARD SPIRIT AWARD

INAUGURAL AWARD CELEBRATING HAGGARD’S INFLUENCE & LEGACY TO BE
PRESENTED AT THE 10TH ANNUAL ACM HONORS
WHICH MAKES ITS TELEVISION DEBUT FRIDAY, SEPT. 9 ON CBS

*    *    *
Hosted by Multi-ACM Award®-Winning Group Lady Antebellum, ACM Honors Two-Hour Special to be
Taped at Nashville’s Historic Ryman Auditorium on Tuesday, August 30

Tweet: @ACMawards to present new ACM Merle Haggard Spirit Award to @mirandalambert at 10th #ACMHonors airing Fri, 9/9 at 9pm ET/PT on @CBS!

ENCINO, CA (August 29, 2016) – The Academy of Country Music® (ACM) announced today that Miranda Lambert will receive the inaugural ACM Merle Haggard Spirit Award at the 10th Annual ACM Honors™. Approved by the ACM Special Awards Panel and voted on by the ACM Board, this new award will honor uncompromising artists in the spirit of Merle Haggard, while acknowledging a man who has figured prominently in ACM history.

“Merle was an integral part of the Academy’s history, and it was important to us that we honor his legacy. We couldn’t imagine anyone better suited to receive the first ever ACM Merle Haggard Spirit Award than Miranda,” said ACM EVP/Managing Director Tiffany Moon.

The 10th Annual ACM Honors™ is an evening dedicated to celebrating the special honorees and off-camera category winners from the 51st Academy of Country Music Awards and will feature performances by Jason Aldean, Kelsea Ballerini, Dierks Bentley, Luke Bryan, Cam, Toby Keith, Alicia Keys, Miranda Lambert, Maren Morris, Blake Shelton, Cole Swindell, Keith Urban, Chris Young, Dan + Shay, The Band Perry and hosts Lady Antebellum.

The two-hour special will tape on Tuesday, August 30 at Nashville’s historic Ryman Auditorium, and make its television debut on Friday, September 9 (9:00-11:00 PM, ET/PT) on the CBS Television Network. 

For more information on the Academy of Country Music and the ACM Honors, please visit www.acmcountry.com.

About ACM Merle Haggard Spirit Award Criteria
The ACM Merle Haggard Spirit Award, created this year, will be awarded to a singer-songwriter and performer whose career reflects the uncompromising integrity and steadfastness of spirit embodied by the late Merle Haggard. Beyond crafting iconic songs and delivering genuine performances, this deserving artist—like Haggard—is characterized by their singular vision in carving an indelible path in country music.

About ACM Honors™
ACM Honors™ is an evening dedicated to recognizing the special honorees and off-camera category winners from the Academy of Country Music Awards, including the Special Awards, Studio Recording Awards and Songwriter of the Year Award winners. The 10th Annual ACM Honors takes place Tuesday, August 30, 2016 at Nashville’s historic Ryman Auditorium and – for the first time ever – will be produced for television by dick clark productions to be broadcast onFriday, September 9 (9:00-11:00 PM, ET/PT) on the CBS Television Network. Allen Shapiro, Mike Mahan, R.A. Clark, Barry Adelman and Mark Bracco are executive producers. Tiffany Moon is executive producer for the Academy of Country Music.

# # #

Media Contacts:
Academy of Country Music 
Brooke Primero / Melissa Moldovan
818.788.8000
Brooke@acmcountry.com 
Melissa@acmcountry.com

CBS Television
Andrea Ballas / Kate Fisher
818.655.1581 / 212.975.3818
aballas@cbs.com
khfisher@cbs.com

dick clark productions
Liz Morentin / Lydia Baskharoon
310.255.4602 / 310.255.0319
lmorentin@dickclark.com
lbaskharoon@dickclark.com

PMK•BNC
Brian Rubin / Christina Canseco
Pipere Boggio / Hallie Sawyer
310.854.4800
Brian.Rubin@pmkbnc.com
Christina.Canseco@pmkbnc.com
Pipere.Boggio@pmkbnc.com
Hallie.Sawyer@pmkbnc.com